Case Management Excellence Awards 2014

The Case Management Excellence Awards are the place to see and recognize how organizations could be more effective at getting things done.  You don’t have to call it “case management” … anything that is about helping teams collaborate more effectively may qualify for this public recognition.

Many Different Names

Like all emerging fields, the same capabilities is known by many different names.  You might know it better as:

  • Social Task Management
  • Enterprise Work Management
  • Human Interaction Management
  • Adaptive Case Management
  • Collaborative Planning
  • Purposeful Collaboration
  • Team Coordination Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Social Project Management
  • Production Case Management
  • Get Things Done

The name that you call it is unimportant, you don’t need to call it case management!  Instead, we are looking for real use cases of real people who used technology with the following capabilities:

  • Multi-user: it must allow multiple people to interact & communicate
  • Goals & tasks: it must have representation of work to be done at some level
  • Document sharing: it must allow for collecting information for handling the case
  • Access Control: it must protect the information and expose only to who needs it
  • Knowledge Work: it must support unpredictable kinds of work which is determined at run time.
  • Control: users must be able to control the flow of the work (i.e. a case manager)
  • History: there must be records to support continual improvement of work

If you are working with an example of technology to support this kind of unconstrained collaboration, file an abstract now.  It costs nothing to file an abstract. You then have 2 months to get the final write up completed. More information about the judging criteria is available on the website.  We are looking for excellent case studies to help increase awareness of the best practices of case management.

Recognize you or your team’s efforts

The Case Management Excellence Awards are the ideal way to be recognized by the industry, to acknowledge and publicly recognize the efforts of your team and to inject passion in to your case management excellence.

Case Management is a rapidly growing field. These awards are designed to highlight the best examples of technology to support knowledge workers. Winners are featured on our awards website.  Each year we publish a book of the award winners:  in 2012 “How Knowledge Workers Get Things Done” and in 2013 “Empowering Knowledge Workers.”

Who are the awards for and judged by?

Finalists and winners are selected by a panel of 16 volunteer judges drawn from experts in this field, headed by an Advisory Panel comprising Tom Koulopoulos, Delphi Group, Hugh McKellar, KMWorld and Connie Moore, Forrester Research. Winning this award may be just what is needed to put your program back into the spotlight and to elevate your case management excellence profile in 2014.

When is the Awards Ceremony?

The Awards Ceremony will take place on June 16, 2014 at the BPM and Case Management Global Summit Washington DC to be held at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City June 16-18. The use cases are made accessible to the community by inclusion in a hard cover book that also includes thought provoking chapters from industry leaders.

How do I enter?

Visit our web page at and see the guidelines there. Final submissions must be between 6 and 10 pages long. We are looking for the best example of case management and technology to support it in the world.

It is not expensive to participate: we charge $250 per entry (mainly to prevent spurious entries) and the benefit of public exposure is worth many times this.  We keep the cost low because as a non-profit effort we simply want to encourage the best examples of case management to be submitted.

When do entries close?

Notice of intent to submit is due before March, and the deadline for the final completed use case is April 16, 2014. Abstracts that are submitted before mid February have an opportunity for review and critique by the organizing committee to help you assure that you have all the appropriate details included to make the best case possible. Judging is completed in May, and the awards announced on June 17.


1 thought on “Case Management Excellence Awards 2014

Leave a Reply to work management Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s